A framework or approach of sorts

Hello,

I am new to the test plant forums and i will try not to sound dumb :).
My query is about the frameworks that we can use while automating the tests using Eggplant. When i say "Frameworks", i mean a way to organize my tests and other tools which are a kind of arrangement that will be permanent over the years for n number of tests. If i can say in a simple language then we may call it an "approach" as well. There are certain frameworks that i used in the past like keyword driven or data driven or a hybrid one. with other test automation tools like QTP or Test Complete. I used multi layered architecture wherein the simplest form of scripting will be the topmost layer with actions like Click or Write Text or Drag which are tightly coupled with a lower layer programming unit having all the details being called for those actions.Then i will have a separate middle layer for the objects which can be particular to a screen or a functionality specific and these are to be used by the top and lower layers to perform the actions on those objects.This allowed me a good amount of re-usability, easy for the average script-aware audience and also a good maintainability. I am now starting up with Eggplant and was wondering if there are some good practices or approaches that anyone followed to avoid myself from known pitfalls or surprises that i might come across. In short, i do not want to reinvent a wheel if someone has already done it :) and can help me out by suggesting. My requirements are same as i mentioned above like re-usability, maintainability and an easy top layer so that everyone does not need to get into the box to know the details. I will be needed to use the data using Excels or i can use tables as well f provided by EP.

Thank You very much

Comments

• DaveHesterDaveHester Member ✭✭
    I use eggPlant Functional in the Healthcare IT field, so my suggestions may or may not meet your needs.